top of page
Search
yij178

First Reflection

My name is Yi Jiang, I was born in China, at age 15, I moved to California with my mom. I graduated from Diamond Bar high school and enrolled in UCI in 2019, right now I am a second year math student, and trying to graduate college also passing this class. The last writing class I took before this class was AC 20 C, it is a class designed for English learners. One of the things I learned in that class was how to write a research paper, also techniques such as phrasing, and summarizing, it helped me improve to be a better writer. I think I am still a beginner in the field of writing, English is my second language. I often struggle with vocabulary use, grammar error, and the structure of the essay. I could not write a clear essay that is well structured which is easily understood by the writer. I think in the past year my writing improved in having a good logic on the title of the essay. I did poorly on the benchmark, I could not find the sentence with the write punctuation, and other grammatical errors, such as run on sentence, I did not know what a dangling modifier was, but somehow I did good on the sentence fragment and pronoun part. This class focuses on our writing, we need to do weekly discussion as we can reply to other classmates as interactions, also weekly blogs, practice reading questions, group projects, these are the main work in this class, we also have to do a portfolio. The grade contract is about how we are getting our grades, the most important part is to do each assignment on time, and give our best effort, if we completed it we will get full credit, but if we want an A, we need to give our critical thinking, also we need to make appointment to come to office hours, discussing with the professor on our problems, the other important thing is that we need to attend the 3 lectures.





18 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 Comments


mingchm
Jan 18, 2021

Hi Yi, I like the way you design you blog. I like the animation you use in your home page. That is showy.

Like

yunc14
Jan 18, 2021

This is also my first time that need to create a personal website for the portfolio so no worry because we all new to this website and I am sure that we can explore together. I kind lucky because in my 20C class I did a portfolio so I have some experiment for portfolio but with the Wix website, I am a new person.

Like

Wanyi Shi
Wanyi Shi
Jan 17, 2021

I also did poorly in Language and Grammar Diagnostic. But I think as long as we do more exercises and have a certain grasp of the logic of sentences, we can make fewer mistakes in grammar.

Like
bottom of page